Writing Tips for Beginners #3: Writers and Reading

“If you don’t have time to read, you have neither the tools nor the time to write.” – Stephen King

I have a BA in English with an emphasis in Creative Writing. (I know. Shocking right?) During those years as an undergrad I couldn’t figure out why I had to take all of these various literature classes. I had Brit Lit 1 and 2. American Lit 1 and 2. Women and Lit, World Lit, so on and so forth. I remember asking one of my professors why I’m taking all of these lit classes. I liked them, but I’m supposed to be learning to write. It took me two years after I graduated to figure it out.

As a writer, you have to be a reader. I cannot stress enough how important it is to read. And read everything. Read old stuff, new stuff, news reports, plays, everything. Read outside the scope of what you write. These are your guides.

Leave a Reply

