Down The Mountain

I watched the yellow sun rise slowly over the green horizon

until its full golden omnipotence spread across the sky

reflecting colors of blues pinks purples and oranges

into my salty eyes

///

I stared like mother always said I shouldn’t

until colors blended into spots

the world around me turning black

///

I heard the song of sunrise most never know exists

I watched as all life bowed offering prayers

and unwavering devotion

///

With a sigh I closed my eyes

leaned back and smiled

all the way to the end

***

*From Color in the Dark. Get the whole book here.***

cover1400

Leave a Reply

