Ex. 139: Write about your favorite quotation.

My favorite quote of all time has to be from Madonna. “People don’t say what they want so they don’t get what they want.”

Ever since I read that a few years ago, I’ve been far more honest not just with people, but with myself as well. It’s like my mother would always say, “If you don’t ask, you don’t get.” But I like the Madonna quote because of its simple truth. People are afraid to admit, even to themselves, their real dreams in life. They settle for Office Space type jobs that they don’t want when they could have more if they just said what they wanted.

I live my life by this quote. And it has taken me to so many places and I’ve met so many wonderful people. I wouldn’t have been able to get where I am today had I not applied this simple idea. I’ve lived in London, traveled all over Europe, have written two novels, and am working on getting a job teaching English in Asia.

If it’s one thing I’m happy to tell anyone, it’s to say what you want and do what you want.

***

From 500-5-Minute Writing Exercises. Available in print and ebook.

5005-min

Leave a Reply

