Silos: Harboring Creativity

So, my last post about the Market trade fair got deleted. As soon as posted it, it was gone. I’ve been very irritated about that. It took me over an hour to do (I have a slow computer). I had pictures and everything. Normally, I save drafts. However, we no longer have the option to do that. We’re just supposed to trust that it’s saving a draft. I’m sure you can guess how I feel about that. Anyway, it’s taken me a while to get my groove back. But I’m warming up again. I will update the trade fair post a little later. Today, I want to talk about a term one of my professors used during our course over the last few weeks.

Silos  

I thought it was interesting because I had only known silos to be what a silo is. However, he was using it to describe a culture where everyone works independently, where we keep our ideas and strengths to ourselves while never having anyone to back up our weaknesses.It brought me back to what a friend of mine said several years ago. I asked him if he wanted to be the next Freud and make ground breaking discoveries about humans and society. He said that the days of people being credited on their own were gone. We were moving to a world where we would be credited as teams.

I’ve been listening to Steven R. Covey’s The Seven Habits of Highly Effective People. One of the topics he discussing that’s been having a huge effect on the way I see society is the idea of growing away from independence to become interdependent. Sure we can do it on our own, but what about together? If movies teaches us nothing else, they teach that to make something truly brilliant, we must work in teams.

More and more we’re seeing a shift in the way companies build products. Thanks to social networking, businesses like Tide detergent are able to create connections with their customers. They can find out their likes and dislikes, thus making the customers a part of the company’s creative process. Google often beta tests its new products, letting the public give feedback before the product goes “live.” Because of new technologies, musicians and producers can work together from opposite sides of the world.

Social sharing has allowed to do what I believe we know instinctively that we need to do. Be more interdependent. We can’t be silos anymore and expect innovative results. To change the world, we have to interact with it, become part of discussions and throw ideas onto the round table for others use as part of the bigger puzzle.

The time of the silos is dead.

Leave a Reply

