220: Write an opening using, "She would be hot if she didn’t remind me of my mother."

“She would be hot if she didn’t remind me of my mother. You ever feel that way Ms. Kinnington? I first realized I was in love with Mrs. Evans during lunch…”

I tried to bury my hatred of life as Andrew came to me with yet another lover’s pursuit that would undoubtedly end in heartache. This month’s endeavor? The lunch lady, a woman who, while reasonably healthy, and possibly pretty if her beauty weren’t weighed down by a hairnet and an apron two sizes too big, was in her late 50’s. Andrew had just turned 17 a week ago. He invited me to his birthday party. Andrew doesn’t seem to understand. I’m not his friend; I’m the school counselor.

**Exercise from 500 5-Minute Writing Exercises. Get the whole book here.**

Leave a Reply

