Most Entertaining Bowlers

Yesterday, I had the joy of celebrating my first overseas birthday. And it was my 30th birthday, so it was kind of extra special for me. I went to a publishing conference that brought up a lot of questions for me about where the industry is headed. You can read my thoughts on that here.

After that I had dinner with my flatmates and some of their friends. After that we went bowling. Let me tell you, it was one of the best bowling experiences I’ve ever had. There were eight of us who bowled. Through strange coincidence the worst bowlers of the group ended up teamed together. While those who were a little better were on a team together. I don’t think were really playing each other; we were just hoping we hit something at the other end of the lane.

I was on the team of worst players, which was fitting. I tell you this though, the other team may have had a higher score, but they didn’t have David and Valentina. They’re both undergrads who attend my uni. I had no idea how much fun bowling could be until I bowled with them.

Let’s start with David. He brings the rhythm to bowling. Before and after he bowls, he dances. It is awesome. And he does this arm movement that’s like he’s trying to use The Force to get the ball to go where he wants it go. (One time it actually worked). Whether he’s successful or not, he dances. And in all honesty, he’s not a bad dancer. Which kind of makes it even better because he breaks out these dance moves and you’re just like…where did that come from?

Now Valentina. She brings suspense to the game. She mastered a way to bowl so the ball just kind of cruises down the lane. You have no idea until the very end where it’s going to go. And just because it looks like it’s going to fall down the side, doesn’t mean that’s what’s going to happen. One time in particular, the ball looked like it was going to go over, then it rolled the opposite direction. And I’m getting all excited watching this because it looked like she was set to strike. But the ball kept moving. And moving. Eventually, it ended up in the gutter at the other side of the lane. Without touching a single pin. I still don’t know how that happened.

Actually, that was probably my fault. I suggested she use the same ball I was using that seemed to bring some kind of luck during the first game. But I think that ball was against her. It was a really great night. I would love to bowl with both of them again.

The rest of the night great, too. We did a little dancing, ate really greasy food that wasn’t that great, and walked along the river. It made me feel really good having such amazing people around me for a whole 24 hours. I don’t know how next year’s birthday can compare with this one. But I guess I’ll find out when I get there.

Cheers

One thought on “Most Entertaining Bowlers

Leave a Reply

