Great British Business

On Nove 17th, I went to the Great British Business Show. If you don’t know what that is, click here. The best way I can describe the show is Comic-Con for businesses. There are all kinds of booths there with people trying to sell you products or services that will help you with your own business endeavors. Which was cool.

But I was there for the seminars. They had 12 or 13 spaces made for seminars. It was an interesting way for them to put that together because we weren’t inside a room. They had, what I can only call tents made. They place chairs inside and had standing room. At any given moment, these tents were full, so full that a lot of people stood outside of the room in hopes of hearing what the speaker was saying.

The only panel I went to that wasn’t as packed was Intellectual Property. I can’t say I’m surprised. Intellectual Property (actually, any kind of law) is a boring subject and not one people line up around the block to hear about. Unless, of course, they have a reason to be there. For my class, I am on a panel discussing intellectual property. So, I had a reason to be there.

Actually, I felt that I had lucked out being able to sit at the panel. I had a chance to get a little information from an actual IP lawyer on patents (my subject for discussion). So, that was really fortunate for me.

Speaking of which, I had a chance to talk to a representative from the IPO of UK. He answered a lot of my questions and pretty much told me everything I needed to know for my discussion.

As far as the other panels, I got a few notes. Not as many as I thought I would. Each panel was only 30 minutes. The speakers spent the first 15 minutes introducing themselves before they got into the topic at hand. Personally, I would rather hear about the topic. I can always look up the speakers’ qualifications. And in any case, I trust that they know what they’re talking about resume or not.

One of the most surprising things I learned was the power of Facebook. When I think of sharing information about my book or personal blog or any of that, the first thing I think of is Twitter. My Twitter is linked to my Facebook, so I kind of feel like I’m killing two birds with one stone.

However, that thinking is backwards. Facebook is the leader in information sharing. And when I say leader, I mean Twitter isn’t even close. If it were a racetrack, Facebook would have run around the track five time before Twitter ran around once.

What this tells me is that instead of focusing so much on my Twitter, I need to focus on my Facebook for everything, my team business Curpy, my books, my brand, everything. Then after all of that is established, I can focus on Twitter.

Other notes I took were:

  • Fredericks Foundation helps disadvantaged people start or expand a business
  • Department of Business Innovation and Skill helps people set-up small business
  • Write what success means and how my business will help get me there
  • Xing is another social network for business
  • Justin Timberlake bought MySpace
  • Write 10 goals and how I will achieve them
  • Understand the power of relationships and gain support from my own network first

All in all I’d say it was good morning.

One thought on “Great British Business

Leave a Reply

