Insomnia and the Snow Day

So it was a snow day today in good ‘ol Kansas City, MO, which means, I didn’t have to go to work.  Whooo!!! Hoooo!!!  And kids think teachers don’t appreciate a good snow day every now and then.  Anyhow, on wards and upwards with this week’s 5-minuter.  Enjoy.  Oh and check out the new Blue Ships Magazine site.  And while you’re there, submit something.

Ex. 291: You have insomnia.  What are you doing while the rest of the world is asleep?

10pm: The wife is nagging me because I won’t see a doctor about my insomnia.  I nag her about moving from Alaska, where it doesn’t get dark for parts of the year, to moving back to Vegas, where I loved living.

12am:  The wife has finally decided to take a shower and rest.  I look in on the kids for no reason other than I can.  This also marks the 15th day I’ve gone without sleep.

12:05am:  I have opened and closed the shutters in my bedroom six times.  Still nothing.

3:47am:  I have been watching a multitude of random late night/early morning programming on over 300 channels.  Not all of which I have a subcription for.  It usually takes me about 5-6 minutes to realize that’s why the channel’s blank.

4:03am:  I jump in the shower and get ready for work…in five hours.

***

**Exercise from 500 5-Minute Writing Exercises. Get the whole book here.**

Leave a Reply

