Battle for Life…Or something

Ex 245: “Now that it’s just us, and everything’s out in the open, there’s just one thing I want to know.”

I had never in my life wished for a battle more than I did right now. But Jack and I had destroyed the enemy. We had won. I should be celebrating, not sitting here wishing I had more aliens to distract Jack from staring at me so coldly.

Really, thought I was just hoping one of the stray lasers would puncture the windshield and vaporize me. Anything would be better than suffering this tight cold silence with my best friend of 15 years and my co-pilot.

Damn it. If only Galvan didn’t exist or I’d killed him before he had a chance to shoot his mouth off. I should have guessed that after all of this time Galvan’s rank ass would have some skeleton I’d forgotten about.
“Now that it’s just us,” Jack said, “and everything’s out in the open, there’s just one thing I want to know.“

***

**Exercise from 500 5-Minute Writing Exercises. Get the whole book here.**

Leave a Reply

