Belated Monday

Let’s just pretend today is Monday. It’s like stretching the day out into extra innings!!! Yippeee!!! Yip…oh wait.

“Please tell me you know where we are.”

“Oh, God, please tell me you know where we are,” I said.
“Of course, I do,” Anderson said. “As you said, I am God.
“Oh Lord,” I prayed silently. “One day, I beg you to make murder legal. ‘Cause right now, my friend needs it.”
“Well, look, stupid,” I said to Anderson. “Why don’t you use your God-like powers and get us the hell out here.”
When he didn’t’ answer I looked up at him. The horror that was on his face was tangible even in the moonlight. I looked in the direction he was staring that drained all color and humor from his face. Approaching us was a polar bear.
“We need to go,” he said in a whisper.
“You think?” I said aggravated. “We’re only in the arctic, at night, with nothing on.”

***

**Exercise from 500 5-Minute Writing Exercises. Get the whole book here.**

Leave a Reply

