SDWC for 05192009

SDWC for 05192009

Write about a color (Monday Night Writer’s Group)

Red, orange, blue. Could an odder color scheme be found? Maybe if he added a little fuchsia. Artists. And here I am thinking I was strange because I still write all my work with a typewriter.

“Alright, so this is my place,” he said. “This is my home.” Pause. “What do you think?”

I took a deep breath. “Well, I guess since we’re writing about your life we should be where you’re most comfortable. Sooo…ahh.”

I placed my green pursed on his bright red sofa. Hideous. But, I wasn’t going to say anything. Afterall, I was the one who volunteered the info that I write about random people’s lives for a living. He said once I wrote about him all others would pale. We’ll see.

#357: I had it flown in for effect (500 Writing Exercises)

I walked around the mansion. The moonlight made it look ominous, like Dracula was the architect. Strange considering I’d been here for breakfast and got no creepies whatsoever. It was just the full moon taking its effect on my nerves.

“Ms. Nawliss,” Coal said from behind me. “You seem lost.” His smile was infectious.

“No, I’m not lost, Mr. Forrest. I was just admiring your house.”

“Oh?”

“Yeah. It looks different at night.”

“How so?”

“I don’t know. It has kind of a creepy vibe.”

He chuckled. “I know. When it’s a full moon I have the creepies flown in for effect. Women love it.”

Oh, he was funny. I smiled at his charming wit. “And yet you’re still single. Can’t imagine why.”

He held his hand out. “Please come. We’re all waiting for you.”

Leave a Reply

